Skip to main content

Center For Faculty Excellence

Recent changes at the Center for Faculty Excellence

Starting in January of 2018, Jeff Loats, Ph.D. has moved from his position as a Professor of Physics to become the Director of the Center for Faculty Excellence.

"I'd like to acknowledge and thank Michael Kolb for his three years of leadership at the Center for Faculty Excellence. In addition, we have incorporated six people on the Instructional Design Team into the CFE and we see this as an exciting change and full of opportunities. I am committed to continuing the good work that Michael set in motion." - Jeff Loats

Stay tuned as the new, larger, CFE integrates our two excellent groups into one coherent team. New events will be happening all the time, and we are leaving the door open to big changes in this process.

To register for upcoming events please go to:


Center for Faculty Excellence programs include:
•    Faculty Learning Communities
•    Workshops
•    Grant Support Awards

2017/18 New Tenure Track Faculty

Back row, left to right: Ann Obermann, Social Work; Deborah Wilcox, Health Professions; Marin Abell, Art; Erin Bissell, Biology; Shinyong Jung, Hospitality, Tourism, and Events Management; William Mesa, Accounting; Susan Ahrent, Education; Megan Lazorski, Chemistry; Feng Jiang, Math and Computer Sciences; Cynthia Krentz, Nursing; Debra Mathias, Nursing

Front row, left to right: Eunjoo Kang, Hospitality, Tourism, and Events Management; Paula McGuire, Communications Arts and Sciences; Pamela Charlie Buckley, Education; Ofelia Schepers, Education; Jade Hoyer, Art; Stacy Barton, Journalism; Cynthia Erickson, Psychology; Salina Saddique, Accounting; Jenny Allert, Nursing

Not pictured: David Dickerson, Management; Megan Lawless, Education; Tony Nunez, Human Performance and Sport; Dorothy Shapland, Education


Normal Business Hours

Monday-Friday | 7:30 a.m.- 4:30 p.m. (Individual appointments with staff may be made until 5:00)
(Closed from 12-1 p.m. for lunch except by appointment)

Grant Support Proposals Due

The grant support proposals deadline for Fall 2018 is February 9, 2018. For more information go to Grant Support Awards.

Summative Peer Observation

MSU Denver no longer requires a summative peer observation for tenure or promotion, however some departments may still have this as a requirement. Check with your department or give us a call if you have questions. The Center will continue to offer its Peer Observation service during the 2017-18 academic year.

Summative Peer Observation Request Form

Edit this page
Auraria Tri-Institutional Faculty Forum

The Center for Faculty Excellence, in partnership with our counterparts at CCD and UC Denver, are hosting a Tri-Institutional Faculty Forum: March 30, 2018, 8:15 am to 2:00 pm in St. Cajetan's. Following is the agenda:

8:15   – Registration/Colleague Connections/Continental Breakfast

9:00   – Keynote: “From Entitling to Empowering Students” – Maryellen Weimer

10:00 – Round Table Discussions with Maryellen Weimer and Facilitators

10:50 – 10 minute break

11:00 – Keynote: “From What to Why: Rethinking How We Frame Higher Education” – Matthew Sanders

12:00 – Lunch starts

12:15 – Matt Sanders and Maryellen Weimer lead discussion from stage during lunch

1:00 –  Student Panel – Matt Sanders moderates

Registration is free, but space is limited. Please register at: 

Please note that on Thursday, March 29, 2018, Matt Sanders will be holding a student workshop in Plaza M204on "Becoming Learners". No registration required but space is limited and pizza will be served. Please encourage your students to attend.